Skip to content

building a web site

July 8, 2009

I’ve just spent the past 24 hours working on my web site (www.kelados.com). Amazingly, most of it has gone very smoothly, even if not quite as planned.

First challenge was to find a new hosting service for my domain. My previous host did not provide all the tools that the newer hosting services seem to provide, and wanted to charge me a lot of money for scanning my incoming emails for spam. Time to move!

My major concern was not transferring the web site content, as I planned to revise the whole site anyway.  I was, however, anxious that I might lose incoming email for a day or so, which would have been a disaster 😦  The transfer to justhost.com went remarkably smoothly, and my email was up and running in no time at all.  Even better, I have only had one junk mail in the past 24 hours, compared to the usual 100’s (no exaggeration).

I’ve since spent a contented few hours dabbling in my creative impulses, choosing a template and setting out new pages. It seems like a very productive use of my time, even if it sometimes seems a little narcisistic.  But then, that is what the new social media is all about.  Hopefully by sharing my experience, I will be able to help others, as well as generate new business for myself, all for the cost of a few hours of my time. Seems like a good deal.

However there is no doubt that my amateur dabbling in design can be improved greatly by a little genuine expertise.  Look out for phase 2 of my web site soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

